Curriculum

RCEM Curriculum

The General Medical Council (GMC), in its 2017 report ‘Excellence by Design’ has stated that the curricula for all medical specialties must be revised by 2021. The revised curricula must:

  • introduce Generic Professional Capabilities
  • be structured round a limited number of ‘Specialty Learning Outcomes’ - activities that describe the work of an independent clinician in each particular discipline
  • demonstrate stakeholder involvement in developing curricula
  • reduce assessment burden and avoid a ‘tick-box’ approach

We have received final approval from the GMC for the submitted curriculum for 2021. The Curriculum Sub-Committee would like to thank all those in the wider EM community who fed in to the development by answering surveys, asking questions of the team, and providing feedback. The 2021 Curriculum is available in an interactive format via the bespoke website, here. A PDF version of the 2021 EM Curriculum  is also now available for download.

The new curriculum will be implemented on 4 August 2021.

Curriculum Implementation

Phase Implementation

We have also been working with our intercollegiate partners in Acute Care Common Stem (ACCS) training to describe the Curriculum for ACCS. The ACCS Learning Outcomes are 9 of the EM Speciality Learning Outcomes with additional Learning outcomes for Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine.

ARCP Checklist

CT1

Twitter Q&A session
A live Twitter Q&A was held on 30 March 2021 to discuss our new curriculum - The transcript is now available to view.

If you would like to speak to a member of the curriculum development group in person, a list of regional contacts on the Curriculum Development Group is included below. Most work within the geographical region they cover. We will also attend educational and training events locally to explain and seek responses to our proposed curriculum.

To get in contact about the project or to provide feedback on our proposed approach please email curriculum@rcem.ac.uk.

If you would like to speak to a member of the curriculum development group in person, a list of regional contacts on the Curriculum Development Group is included below. Most work within the geographical region they cover. We will also attend educational and training events locally to explain and seek responses to our proposed curriculum.

Name Email Region covered
Amanda Farrow Amanda.Farrow2@wales.nhs.uk Wales
Dan Becker d.becker@nhs.net Midlands
Jason Long jason.long@ggc.scot.nhs.uk Scotland
Jill Stafford Jill.Stafford@setrust.hscni.net Northern Ireland
Malcolm Jones Malcolm.Jones@chsft.nhs.uk North East
Richard Parris drrichardparris@virginmedia.com North West
Russell Duncan (Chair) Russell.Duncan2@nhs.scot Scotland & South East
Thomas Wiles; thomaswiles@nhs.net North West
Will Townend (Dean) William.townend@hey.nhs.uk Yorkshire & London

No content found