Curriculum

The General Medical Council (GMC), in its 2017 report ‘Excellence by Design’ has stated that the curricula for all medical specialties must be revised by 2021. The revised curricula must:

  • introduce Generic Professional Capabilities
  • be structured round a limited number of ‘Specialty Learning Outcomes’ - activities that describe the work of an independent clinician in each particular discipline
  • demonstrate stakeholder involvement in developing curricula
  • reduce assessment burden and avoid a ‘tick-box’ approach

With thanks to all those who have engaged so far, our work in Phase Two has now been completed. We have received provisional approval from the GMC to the submitted curriculum for 2021. There are more data required for the detail of the examination changes, but we can reasonably anticipate the new RCEM curriculum will be as we planned.  The Curriculum Sub-Committee would like to thank all those in the wider EM community who fed in to the development by answering surveys, asking questions of the team, and visiting the bespoke website, here.

The planned implementation of the new curriculum will be August 2021.

We have also been working with our intercollegiate partners in Acute Care Common Stem (ACCS) training to describe the Curriculum for ACCS. The ACCS Learning Outcomes are 9 of the EM Speciality Learning Outcomes with additional Learning outcomes for Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine.

If you would like to speak to a member of the curriculum development group in person, a list of regional contacts on the Curriculum Development Group is included below. Most work within the geographical region they cover. We will also attend educational and training events locally to explain and seek responses to our proposed curriculum. 

To get in contact about the project or to provide feedback on our proposed approach please email curriculum@rcem.ac.uk

If you would like to speak to a member of the curriculum development group in person, a list of regional contacts on the Curriculum Development Group is included below. Most work within the geographical region they cover. We will also attend educational and training events locally to explain and seek responses to our proposed curriculum.  

Name  Email  Region covered
Amanda Farrow  Amanda.Farrow2@wales.nhs.uk   Wales
Dan Becker   d.becker@nhs.net
 Midlands 
Jason Long   jason.long@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
 East of England 
Jill Stafford   Jill.Stafford@setrust.hscni.net   Northern Ireland 
Malcolm Jones
 Malcolm.Jones@chsft.nhs.uk   North East & Yorkshire 
Richard Parris   drrichardparris@virginmedia.com  South West 
Russell Duncan (Chair)  Russell.Duncan2@nhs.scot  Scotland & South East
Thomas Wiles   thomaswiles@nhs.net   North West  
Will Townend (Dean)    William.townend@hey.nhs.uk  London 

No content found