Curriculum

The General Medical Council (GMC), in its 2017 report ‘Excellence by Design’ has stated that the curricula for all medical specialties must be revised by 2021. The revised curricula must:

  • introduce Generic Professional Capabilities
  • be structured round a limited number of ‘Specialty Learning Outcomes’ - activities that describe the work of an independent clinician in each particular discipline
  • demonstrate stakeholder involvement in developing curricula
  • reduce assessment burden and avoid a ‘tick-box’ approach

With thanks to all those who have engaged so far, our work in Phase Two has now been completed. The GMC has received our proposed Curriculum and will now evaluate it. Following GMC approval the implementation plan will be communicated to the public with the final version of the curriculum. We anticipate this will be in Summer 2020.

Implementation of the new curriculum will therefore be scheduled for 2021.

We have also been working with our intercollegiate partners in Acute Care Common Stem (ACCS) training to describe the Curriculum for ACCS. The ACCS Learning Outcomes are 9 of the EM Speciality Learning Outcomes with additional Learning outcomes for Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine.

If you would like to speak to a member of the curriculum development group in person, a list of regional contacts on the Curriculum Development Group is included below. Most work within the geographical region they cover. We will also attend educational and training events locally to explain and seek responses to our proposed curriculum. 

To get in contact about the project or to provide feedback on our proposed approach please email curriculum@rcem.ac.uk

If you would like to speak to a member of the curriculum development group in person, a list of regional contacts on the Curriculum Development Group is included below. Most work within the geographical region they cover. We will also attend educational and training events locally to explain and seek responses to our proposed curriculum.  

Name  Email   Location 
Amanda Farrow  Amanda.Farrow@wales.nhs.uk   Wales
Dan Becker   d.becker@nhs.net
 Midlands 
Jason Long (Dean)   jasonlong@nhs.net
 East of England 
Jill Stafford   Jill.Stafford@setrust.hscni.net   Northern Ireland 
Lynsey Flowerdew   Lynsey.Flowerdew@nhs.net   South East 
Malcolm Jones
 Malcolm.Jones@chsft.nhs.uk   North East & Yorkshire 
Richard Parris   r.parris@ntlworld.com   South West 
Russell Duncan   Russellduncan@nhs.net  Scotland 
Thomas Wiles   thomaswiles@nhs.net   North West  
Vikas Sodiwala  vsodiwala@btinternet.com   East of England 
Will Townend (Chair)    William.townend@hey.nhs.uk  London 

No content found