From August 2018, the Fellowship examination consists of the following components:

  • FRCEM Primary Examination 
  • FRCEM Intermediate Certificate:
    • Short Answer Question Paper 
    • Situational Judgement Paper
  • FRCEM Final Examination:
    • Critical Appraisal (Short Answer Question Paper)
    • Quality Improvement Project (QIP)
    • Clinical Short Answer Question Paper 
    • Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE)

The College continues to offer Membership by Examination (MRCEM) for candidates who have passed all of the following examinations:

  • FRCEM Primary (or MRCEM Part A between 1 August 2012 and 1 August 2016 or granted exemption)
  • FRCEM Intermediate SAQ (or MRCEM Part B between 1 August 2012 and 1 August 2016) 
  • MRCEM OSCE (previously called Part C.  Passed after 1 August 2012)  

For further information regarding each individual examination component, please refer to the relevant section on the Regulations and Application Pack page.

If you have any queries regarding the College examinations please email exams@rcem.ac.uk or call +44 (0) 20 7067 1268.